Rosalie Burrell’s music has been performed at Carnegie Hall, Avery Fisher Hall and the Bruno Walter Auditorium at Lincoln Center, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Symphony Space, Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, the Lesher Center for the Arts, and the All Women’s National Brass Convention. Her long-standing musical relationship with the ensemble, Patchtax, resulted in a commission for the piece Zuelaika, a duo for viola and saxophone, which has since been work-shopped and performed by Patchtax in artist residencies at The Banff Centre, Avaloch Farm Music Institute, and at Bush Creek Arts. She has collaborated with artists from The Metropolitan Opera’s Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, as well as the Columbus Symphony with conductor, Rossen Milanov, through the American Composers Orchestra – EarShot New Music Readings program.

Rosalie received her Master’s of Music degree from the Mannes School of Music, where she studied with David Tcimpidis. She earned her Bachelors of Music from the Conservatory of Music at University of the Pacific, studying with François Rose and Robert Coburn. In 2013 she won both the Martinu Composition Award, and the 2013 Mannes Orchestra Composition Competition. Other accolades include the 2012 Jean Schneider Goberman Award second prize for her Piano Quartet, Secret Gardens. She was a finalist for the ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards in 2014, 2015, and 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s